Sunday, May 8, 2011

Game 53: PvT, ST, Loss

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 42
MMR Change: -10 (256)
Overall Record: 29-24
Recap:

A very close call, my 2-gate robo expand against a 3-gate all-in. I held the first push, but only barely. He pushed twice more and I couldn't replace fast enough.

Lessons:

I should have realized it was all-in, and put down either a forge or another production structure to hold it.

Game 52: PvP, TP, Loss

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 20
MMR Change: -10 (266)
Overall Record: 29-23
Recap:
Two gate zealots. Again, scouted it, started preparing, got supply blocked.

Lessons
Don't get supply blocked.

I'm getting shaken with my cheese response, and it's causing me to forget important stuff.

Game 51: PvZ, XNC, Loss

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Gold 1
MMR Change: -10 (276)
Overall Record: 29-22
Recap:

Scouted early roach pressure and prepared for it but got supply blocked right when the push hit.

Lessons:
Don't get supply blocked.

Game 51: PvZ, XNC, Loss

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Gold 1
MMR Change: -10 (276)
Overall Record: 29-22
Recap:

Scouted early roach pressure and prepared for it but got supply blocked right when the push hit.

Lessons:
Don't get supply blocked.

Saturday, May 7, 2011

Fifty Games In: A Retrospective

So, how's it going?

Well, ever since the beginning of the season, I really feel like I have been playing at a higher level than last season.

I won my placement match-- I went to gold, and my opponent went to platinum. Since then, I've pulled a 60% win rate against overwhelmingly platinum opponents.

The hidden MMR system is very sensitive-- I've felt challenged in almost all of my games recently. The displayed MMR and ranking, though, is terribly unresponsive to sudden changes in skill. I've done the improving I need to do to make platinum. The game just needs to catch up.

So, where can I improve?

Here are my breakdowns by race:

PvZ: 69%
PvT: 66%
PvP: 40%

So, PvP. It doesn't play to my strengths. It requires smooth execution, and teching or expanding gets punished. I've had more success since I started defaulting to the defensive 4-gate, and I think I'll stick with that until the patch.

Also, again:

Games under 7 minutes: 1-9 (10%)
Games over 7 minutes: 29-11 (71%)

This is my game plan-- I play standard opening that push into macro games, because I think that's the best way to improve. If I can survive cheese, I win.

Game 50: PvT, XNC, Win

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 26
MMR Change: +15 (286)
Overall Record: 29-21
Recap:
An interesting opening. He tried putting a bunker down right next to my nexus, and I pulled probes to kill it, but in retrospect it was probably an over-reaction, since he wouldn't have marines to put in it.

I also pushed out 2 zealots early, which I used to pressure his ramp, but that he chased off with marines. Again, a bit of a waste, but I wanted to do something with them.

From there it went a little more standard. He hit with barracks pressure against my 2-gate robo, and I held the ramp. It was touch and go until I got out my second immortal, at which point I killed the push and expanded.

I was guessing we were basically even at this point, or that I was maybe a little ahead from killing the push. That's when I scouted him trying to expand to the gold with an orbital command. I pushed out immediately and was able to kill it off, along with some defending forces, a factory, a starport, and a lot of SCVs, but my forces were whittled down to just the immortals and a couple of other units, so I pulled back.

Colossi were out at this point, so I expanded and pushed his natural, where he'd expanded again. He had some tanks but not enough, and I killed it. Again, the main force got small enough that I didn't want to make that final push, but after a wave of reinforcements I got the GG.


Lessons:

If someone tries to freak me out with a bunker again, I shouldn't react quite so hard. That put me unnecessarily behind.

On the other hand, I feel like I did a good job against that barracks pressure this time, but the real deciding factor was his move to take the middle when he couldn't hold it. I just punished him for that.

Game 49: PvZ, SP, Loss

Link: http://replayfu.com/r/VRdjvf
Opponents' Rank: Plat 20
MMR Change: -9 (271)
Overall Record: 28-21
Recap:

This was an odd one, and I should probably watch the replay more closely. I scouted an early pool-- probably around 10, so I dropped a forge and prepared to wall off, but the lings never hit. I figured I was ahead if he went 10 pool and did no damage, although it did cost me a forge and a cannon.

Pushed in a bit off three gates once the expansion was up, and met two spines and a few roaches. Had to pull back. I kept pressure up with another decent push, using FFs to keep roaches away from me, but eventually he got through, killed a decent number of my sentries, and I had to run my stalkers away.

Still figured I was ahead, since he'd had to get enough roaches to hold me off. So, I guess the tide turned when I pushed a third time with an immortal or two. He saw it coming and sandwiched it between to groups of roaches and I lost it all. I was able, barely, to hold the counter push with my first colossus and some emergency cannons, but I'd imagine he took the opportunity to drone up.

He tried some harassment with roach burrow, but I killed it without doing a ton of damage. I was playing from behind, however, and he teched to broodlords, which I had no answer for.

Lessons:

Well, that flank was deadly. I just need to make him feel pressured at that point, not do real damage. Probably would have been better to snipe creep tumors and take watchtowers than to push up the ramp.

Burrow roaches into fast-ish broodlords is an odd build I haven't really seen much, either, but it wouldn't be so bad if I'm not playing from behind.

Game 48: PvT, BG, Loss

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 13
MMR Change: -10 (280)
Overall Record: 28-20
Recap:

This was basically all my terrible macro. Supply block and money float everywhere.

All basically calm until he pushed out with a MMM ball and I only had my first colossus out. My control was bad, but it wouldn't have mattered if I'd had the right number of units.


Lessons:

Just got sloppy. My whole opening could use some polish.

Game 47: PvT, Slag Pits, Win

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 4
MMR Change: +14 (290)
Overall Record: 28-19
Recap: Well, this was... interesting.

He pumped mass marines off a fairly early expansion, but didn't hit until after my first colossus was out.

This did not work out well for him.

Armor upgrades, more colossi, lots of expanding, and eventually templar from me. More marines and some vikings from him.

The number of marines he was throwing out could have been scary if he'd put me under constant pressure, but once I had a couple of colossi, it never had a chance.

Lessons:

Almost too easy to learn from, but my macro wasn't able to keep up with my income off 4 bases, and I got supply blocked around 60. Need to remember to really put down a lot of production if I get an early third.

Thursday, May 5, 2011

Game 46: PvT, ST, Win

Link: Update when ReplayFu returns
Opponents' Rank: Plat 69
MMR Change: +15 (276)
Overall Record: 27-19
Recap:

Got a little lucky on the scout, sneaking in when he lowered his depot and spotting the 3rd rax. Since I knew pressure was coming, I went with three gates and a forge, putting a cannon at the ramp.

Indeed, he came with a bunch of marines, which had no chance against sentries and a cannon. Killed it and expanded. Upgraded out of the forge, started teching to colossi.

He hit with another wave of marines that I handled easily with FFs and +1 armor gateway units. I got colossi when he tried to hit with some tanks. Killed them easily to finish the game.


Lessons:

Holding an all-in marine play is a lot easier if you scout it. I might have over-reacted a bit, but it worked, and if he'd gone with the 3-rax all upgrade push with marauders it would have been a closer thing.

Game 45: PvZ, TA, Win

Link: Will update when ReplayFu returns.
Opponents' Rank: Gold 3
MMR Change: +14 (265)
Overall Record: 26-19
Recap:

Usual openings, 3-gate sentry against hatch first, which I didn't try to punish.

He hit with mass lings shortly after the expo went up, but I had plenty of FFs and zealots and killed it all. (I would have been way out of position if I hadn't grabbed the tower, though.)

Rebuilt off three gates, started the +1, started the robo, and pushed. Did tons of damage but the expansion stayed up.

Pushed out again with an immortal and +1. He had popped out mutas, but not very many and my pressure kept them at his base trying to kill me. I expanded and put down cannons, but didn't need it. Got the GG right after.

Lessons

Well, this was similar to last game except I didn't lose units doing early pressure, punished the aggression, and kept the pressure up so he couldn't get his mutas out.

All my pushes would have been more effective with a proxy pylon. Could maybe have ended things on the second push instead of the third. That's something I should start building in.

Game 44: PvZ, XNC, Loss

Link: ReplayFu is down, I'll update later
Opponents' Rank: Plat 15
MMR Change: -9 (252)
Overall Record: 25-19
Recap:

I see a hatch-first opening and try to punish with a fast 2 zealots and 1 stalker, which he chases off with lings and I lose the two zealots. I go from there into the usual three-gate sentry expand, but he hits shortly after it goes up with lost of lings and my army doesn't have enough zealots in it.


Lessons:

I need to work on my early hatch punishment. It's just not working. I've tried a single chrono'd zealot with another following, and I've tried adding a stalker, and I can't seem to do any economic damage other than forcing lings, and I usually lose stuff.

If I can't punish, I'll just change to accelerating my expansion and trying to keep up, but I have a feeling that some pressure is necessary to stay even. This might require some research.

Also, my macro was terrible, which is why the push hurt as bad as it did. I should have just had the zealots out. That was mostly due to me messing with my build to get that pressure out, and then microing the push. Polish on my pressure plans would help with the macro, but honestly if I have to lose one I'll lose the pressure and keep the macro.

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Game 43: PvZ, ST, Win

Link:Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 69
MMR Change: +15 (261)
Overall Record: 25-18
Recap:
A walkover. He put down a roach warren before his expo, so I went into anti-roach cheese mode with an early forge and sentries.

He never attacked, possibly because he scouted the cannon, but he was way behind economically and my first push killed him.

Lessons

My macro slipped a bit from the change of plans. That could be smoother.

Game 42: PvZ, TA, Loss

Link:Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 38
MMR Change: -8 (246)
Overall Record: 24-18
Recap:
Interesting. I think this was my first run-in with the Spanishwa build. I'll need to watch this replay.

My usualy 3-gate sentry expand push was met with a couple lings, several queens, and lots of spines. Had to pull back.

I tried expanding to a third to take advantage of the turtle, but I didn't get things running fast enough. Speedlings took it out, then I got hit with mutas at the back and banelings in the front, which was clever, but I was already losing.

Lessons

I probably got too scared by encountering a different build. My standard play is pretty strong and I should stick close to it.

If I do try to take a third, I need to move an army into position to defend it.

Also, more vision would have been good-- at least fighting for the tower.

Game 41: PvZ, TP, Loss

Link:Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 14
MMR Change: -9 (254)
Overall Record: 24-17
Recap:
He 6-pooled. Scouted him last. My first clue was the zerglings in my base.

Lessons:

Well, my scouting micro isn't top notch. I could have sped it up a bit, maybe also kept a closer eye on my ramp. 2 out of 3 times, I scout this and spank him for it. This was not that time.

Game 40: PvT, BG, Loss

Link:Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 16
MMR Change: -8 (263)
Overall Record: 24-16
Recap:
Gah.

Gaaaah.

Okay, calmer now. I threw this one away twice.

I was in good shape, easily expanding while holding the early pressure. Then I made my first mistake, putting down a second robo facility instead of a robo bay-- just didn't notice until it finished. Delayed my tech and added a production facility I couldn't support, but I tried to make the best of it.

He was turtling hard behind a wall of tanks, so I expanded, which was fine. He got out vikings, which worried me a bit because my composition was very colossus-heavy. I tried to push in but couldn't make progress against the tanks, so I just expanded again. All good.

Then I just positioned my army a little too close to his tank line, and tried to push through the engagement. He had a stupid, ridiculous, crazy number of tanks and nothing else, which I wasn't expecting. So I stood in range and died.

Lessons

Don't charge into an enormous tank line, doofus. Take the map.

Game 39: PvP, DQ, Win

Link:Replay
Opponents' Rank: Gold 5
MMR Change: +16 (271)
Overall Record: 24-15
Recap:

A very odd game. He tried to hide some proxy pylons in my base but I found them. I couldn't rule out the 4-gate so I defensive 4-gated. He made some very strange attacks that had no chance of working. He had hidden his production buildings in another base, which was odd but not threatening.

We both went colossus and my superior economy won out.

Lessons:

Checking for proxy pylons pays off. Also, I'm liking the defensive 4-gate as a PvP opener for now.

Game 38: PvP, TP, Win

Link:Jono vs Genomic on Typhon Peaks
Opponents' Rank: Plat 23
MMR Change: +16 (255)
Overall Record: 23-15
Recap:
He went 3-gate VRs, which was a bit of a surprise. My defensive 4-gate was a good response, although again I transitioned out of it into robo a little too early, since robo ended up not being too useful.

Beat the first push back, put pressure back on, expanded, got a couple extra gates and an upgrade to finish it off.

Lessons:

Defensive 4-gate is fine against surprise VRs.

Game 37 (In a row?): PvZ, TE, Loss

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 18
MMR Change: -8 (239)
Overall Record: 22-15
Recap:
Well, this is my punishment for saying I felt good about my PvZ.

Let me rephrase: I feel good about my PvZ when they go roach-hydra. Muta-ling is a whole different deal.

This is partly a scouting failure on my part. All of the signs were there-- lots of spines, late speed-- but when I got my obs in his base I only saw a roach warren and went ahead with my robo play.

The harass was too much, and I didn't respond to it well, and eventually it all caught up to me.

Lessons

If I suspect muta-ling, I need to be more careful about putting money into robo tech.

I'm bad at responding to muta harass in general-- I'm too low on APM, basically. It's probably worth a significant cannon investment.

Game 36: PvT, Win, TE

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 14
MMR Change: +16 (247)
Overall Record: 22-14
Recap:
I started to go with my standard 2-gate robo expand, but scouted a very early expand from him. I canceled my robo, put down 2 more gates and a proxy pylon, and pulled a 4-gate. He didn't have nearly enough forces to stop it despite bunkering up.

I think he pulled his internet cord.

Lessons:

Well, I almost never 4-gate Terrans, but it's useful for punishing someone who gets greedy.

Game 35: PvP, ST, Loss

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 14
MMR Change: -8 (231)
Overall Record: 21-14
Recap:
Gah, PvP.

He 4-gated, I defensive 4-gated and held the ramp so I thought I was okay. I put up a robo, got an immortal, and pushed out, but lost badly.

Lessons

My decision to transition quickly out of the defensive 4-gate needs a little tweaking, and I don't need to be too anxious to push out.

I had an economic advantage and he wasn't getting up my ramp. Could have waited till colossi.

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Game 34: PvP, TP, Win

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Gold 2
MMR Change: +16 (239)
Overall Record: 21-13
Recap:
A little awkward, but I pulled it out.

I'm pretty sure he went 4-gate, but didn't hit at the usual window. I went defensive 4-gate and he didn't try to break the ramp. Once I realized I had time, I teched to robo, got one immortal, teched to colossus, and broke the contain once my first one popped.

It died in the battle but I won handily. I expanded and got out 2 more colossi, pushed out and won.

Lessons:

My PvP still feels awkward, and that leads to bumps in my mechanics.

The transition out of the defensive 4-gate, in particular, is odd because it breaks my usual rules of constant production.

Still, I should be able to avoid the kind of nasty supply blocks that happened this game.

The root of the problem is indecision: Is he 4-gating? Is it going to hit? Why hasn't it hit yet? Can I tech? That thought process is distracting enough to cost me in mechanics. If I have smoother rules, it might go better, but I always feel like teching or expanding in PvP has to be a snap call because you can just get instantly punished for it if you do it at the wrong time.

I think I'm going to take Day 9's advice and put a stake in the ground, try to pick a moment to tech, and then adjust based on results.

Specifically, right after the 4-gate wave is supposed to hit. If nothing comes, the robo goes down.

Game 33: PvZ, Metal, Win

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 19
MMR Change: +17 (223)
Overall Record: 20-13
Recap:

A pretty easy win here. My three-gate sentry expand opening is getting pretty smooth.

My opponent was very good at using single speedlings to scout, but way too cautious with spine crawlers. He put up so many that I had to turn my first push back without engaging, but I counted that as a win because of the sunk cost.

My next step was a robo and a forge. Got +1 and an immortal, got a little supply blocked. Pushed out with that force, engaged the spine crawlers, used force fields on the lings. His first wave of roaches popped during the attack, but I killed it and then reinforced with my first colossus and another few waves of gateway units to seal it.

Lessons:

I had the supply block, and my money floated up during the push, even though I did get back and put down some warp ins. Could have done that more.

Overall my PvZ is in a very good place. I think I've lost one that wasn't cheese since I came back.

Monday, May 2, 2011

Game 32: PvT, XNC, Loss

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Gold 10
MMR Change: -7 (206)
Recap: This was strange.

Basically, I went 3-gate expand. He went with a bio push off 3 rax with a ghost. I held it easily and thought I was in good shape. Got a robo up. My macro slipped a bit here with a supply block at 60.

Then he just pushed again, with a lot of bio. My control wasn't great and I'd lost some sentries in the first push, so it basically killed me right there.

I usually feel pretty safe after holding a T's first bio push, so I'm not sure what was different this time.


Lessons:
  • First off, replace your sentries.
  • Don't relax after the first push. I guess I should have know this-- 3-rax ghost off one base and failing to kill the expansion meant he either goes all-in or rolls over. Most Ts I play roll over, expanding way late and trying to play a macro game from behind. What this guy did is the right choice and I should expect to see it more often.
  • Combining the two: teching after the push was a mistake. I needed to spend the gas on sentries and the rest of my resources on army. Probably should have gone with another gate and a forge.

Game 31: PvZ, Win, Shakuras Plateau

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Gold 1
MMR Change: +16 (213)
Record: 19-12

Recap: This flowed like a pretty standard PvZ despite some weird choices on his part-- he went gas-pool-hatch and I went 3-gate sentry expand. My first push went better than usual, able to cut off some units and even pick off a few drones, then scoot back out.

I came back with 2 immortals and an observer and again was able to get in, do damage, and come back out. His composition had more lings in it than I would have expected.

Because I'd kept all my units and I'd seen no sign of him adding hydras yet, I expanded to a third rather than tech to colossus. He pushed it as soon as it went up, and that battle was close but my warp-ins tipped the balance, even though I lost a bunch of probes.

At this point I had 3 functional bases powering 2 robos getting colossi along with a gateway ball. He pushed again at my third but I beat it down and did a final push to end it.

Lessons: Again, a very nearly standard PvZ, except that I would usually wait to get my third after colossus tech, and he didn't tech past roach/ling.

I was rocking the pylons this game. Felt like old times. Now I can get back to worrying about my money float.

Game 30: Win, PvZ, Slag Pits

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Plat 58
MMR Change: +16 (197)
Recap: He opened with a fast pool, and I didn't defend as well as I should have despite scouting it. My pylon placement made it so I couldn't put up my usual temporary three-building wall, and they got in. I had to pull probes and chase them around, and lost a few in the process. Overall I still probably came out slightly ahead.

I pushed as soon as I had recovered, which might have been a mistake. Lost a stalker to a bunch of speedlings and withdrew.

Went from there into my usual 3-gate sentry expand. Pushed and took some substantial losses. He went with upgraded roaches and I went with robo, getting several immortals out before teching to colossus, which finished it.


Lessons: A pretty solid game. Would have been over faster if I'd placed my first pylon a little better and crushed his 6-pool. Supply management was better but still a bit bumpy. Some resource float during the push.

Game 29: Loss, PvT, Backwater Gulch

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank: Replay
MMR Change: -7 (181)
Overall Record: (I'm adding this since Battle.net now makes it hard to keep track.) 17-12

Recap: Bunker rushed. I thought I was doing all right, intercepting the marines as they came in, but the bunker finished and they loaded up.

Lessons: Possible I should have pulled probes to prevent the bunker from finishing.
Most of my recent losses weren't terribly educational. A Korean 4-gate, a 10-pool, a weird thing where he chrono boosted three zealots out of 1 gate and hit when I just had 1 zealot and 1 stalker and I didn't micro well enough, and one game where my macro was so terribly sloppy that all I can say is "fail less".

That only leaves a couple, both unorthodox PvPs. My PvP needs work, bad.

Link: Replay
Opponents' Rank:
MMR Change: -7
Recap: He started with 3-gate pressure with a forward pylon. I'd seen enough to suspect a 4-gate and went defensive 4-gate. I had some awkward supply blocks in this period, but was still able to hold the first push and stay even in supply.

Once I figured the 4-gate wasn't coming, I put down a robo, got an immortal, and started dedicating all my gas to teching to colossus. This worked pretty well-- I had the immortal out for his next push, and a colossus out for the third. Once that was done, I pushed him back, destroyed the forward pylon, and expanded as I pushed.

He has already expanded, which was smart. I did a lot of damage with my push but he ended up keeping the nexus and killing almost everything. I didn't macro well during this battle. Our supplies were even but I was floating 900 minerals.

Still, I felt good. I had an expo up and a tech lead. He stayed with immortals and got blink while I kept making colossus. He got a third up a little faster than I did, but I don't think the game lasted long enough for that to matter.

I pushed in with two colossus, range, and +1 weapons. He had a bunch of stalkers and immortals, which wrapped around my colossi, killed them, and then crushed the rest.

Lessons:
  • Some early supply blocks turned what should have been easy early battles into close calls, and my macro slipped during my main push. My mechanics slipped during my break, and they're my main focus for improvement. I could stand to spend a few games going back to watching the supply counter.
  • My colossus lead made me over confident. It's a little odd to be fighting a PvP where the opponent doesn't have any, so I was a little thrown. Immortals are pretty good against them, and if I don't take advantage of the big range plus force fields to keep them safe, they'll die.
  • I think I played this more-or-less correctly. Teching to colossus and pushing against his expo was the right move. If my macro and mechanics were better, it would have worked.

And We're Back

Went dark for a few weeks there as my video card blew out and it took a while to get replaced. The game's changed a bit while I was gone-- mostly, new ladder maps.

My intention with playing in general, and with the blog project in particular, was to play a few games, and then mindfully analyze them, rather than mass gaming.

Coming off a three-week hiatus, though, I found a couple of things:

  • I needed several games just to get back in the swing of 1v1
  • I was underranked and winning boatloads of easy games.
Between that and the ladder reset (after which I was still in gold), I think I'm going to hit a reset button on the blog as well. I'll go through some highlights of my games since my return, and then restart with the game-by-game tracking.

So, since the ladder reset:

  • Record: 17-11
  • Adjusted MMR (No bonus pool): 188
Pretty good, actually. What's more, my wins are bringing in 17-18 points (without bonus pool) while my losses are costing 7-8, so I should be moving up pretty rapidly until that equalizes.

So, let's pull out some educational moments from my warm-up period, shall we?