I documented that experience at Reddit. The results: a vast improvement in my macro, a huge spike in the quality of players I was being matched against, and not a inch of budging in my displayed ranking.
And that's fine. The displayed ranking is just for show, and I could feel the improvement, which was always the real goal. It's a little funny that I could rise 70 places in the rankings while essentially stagnant in skill, then get have a quantum leap forward in ability and not budge.
After that week, though, I didn't get to play for a while, and now I'm a little rusty again. I have some time to play, and I'm going to try to repeat the process. Massing games isn't all that helpful to me. I think I need to play a few games, then go carefully over the replays and evaluate my progress.
The areas I'm working on are macro-related: tapping my production facilities, keeping my money low, mainly. I'm also working on improving my scouting.
This time, I'll be doing an analysis of each game, win or lose, and giving it its own entry here. As before, I'd welcome any feedback and commentary.
According to this analysis, my hidden MMR is 1276, and a promotion comes at 1500.
Let's get started.
No comments:
Post a Comment